Back to Top

Photography for Teachers

TEC-998
3 Credits
Online
4.95/5.00
TEC-998
3 Credits
Online
4.95/5.00

69 Reviews

4.50/5.00
3/28/2024
State: CALIFORNIA
Great instructor with great feedback, structure, and experience.
5.00/5.00
3/28/2024
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
2/6/2024
State: ILLINOIS
This class was fun to take and I learned about elements of digital photography that I have never experienced. The instructor had easy to follow directions, super helpful videos, some great tips and gave good feedback in a timely manner. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to work on improving their digital photography.
5.00/5.00
1/18/2024
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/29/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
The course was an amazing experience! The course is well written and the instructor is always there to help when needed. I highly recommend this class to any photography enthusiast.
5.00/5.00
8/4/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
I enjoyed this course and think it is definitely great for beginners and photo enthusiasts. I like that the professor allows you to explore your own environment and even create your own projects in the last module. I felt free to create and make up things as I went while also getting meaningful feedback on my work.
5.00/5.00
6/26/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This was another awesome class by Eric Westland. He never disappoints. The course was well organized, very clear and informational, and he always adds humor. The only thing that could make this better would be to have a part 2 to this course, because it left me wanting to know even more about photography. I feel so much more confident in my photography now and know how to actually use my camera without relying on the auto function. This course has inspired me to want to start a photography class at my school. I would highly recommend this course!
5.00/5.00
6/22/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/9/2023
State: Armed Forces AP
I liked the course. Eric does a good job explaining things with plenty of samples to look at. I recommend this course to anyone who would like to improve their photography skills.
5.00/5.00
3/23/2023
State: Armed Forces AP
Awesome course!!
5.00/5.00
2/20/2023
State: MICHIGAN
This class was informative, fun, and very interesting. The instructor took his time giving individual feedback promptly. I would highly recommend this class!
5.00/5.00
1/17/2023
State: OHIO
I learned many things from this course! I thought it was thorough and left open to creativity. I felt like all parts of the camera and photography were introduced in a nice manner that didn't overwhelm me. The textbook was also helpful to have something concrete to look through for ideas. I am a yearbook advisor at a high school. I am a soccer and swim coach and mother of swimmers and soccer players. I am an avid scrapbooker. Being able to take photos that are cooler and look better will help me to capture all the memories that I am also looking to record! It will also help my students to take better photos of there peers. All of the lessons were valuable to me for my future in the classroom and as a parent/scrapbooker. I can even apply some of the lessons to taking pictures on my phone. The professor was available and prompt with feedback throughout the entire course. He had advice, but was also good with compliments about the what we were working on. Bottom line was that I loved all of it! And while some of my assignments were not perfection, I now have the tools to just keep getting better. It was a fabulous class, and I loved it!
5.00/5.00
1/14/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This was an amazing course for all level photography aficionados. Most educators know at least the basics on the digital camera but this course will help you delve deeper in the bells and whistles that your equipment offers! I have learned so very much here and this course not only offers written material but video as well which is helpful for all learners. This course will help with slowing down your thought process on photographing what you see and how to translate that into an amazing photo using the appropriate settings. This course personally and professionally has made my photos cleaner, more aesthetically pleasing to the eye. I work for a campground as well and produce the social media posts for 5 months out of the year for them, this course has been a great way to learn how to fix issues that would arise with being set to “Auto”. Action photos and lighting in general were always a problem for me. I know getting the best images takes practice but this course is a great starting point to get you to that amazing print worthy image. Even if you think you have the best photo you have the help of editing software to make it more beautiful, besides learning about what my camera can do the editing software was a great plus. I was always eager to let the camera take over with “Auto” until this course. I took this course to go beyond the “Auto, to enhance and improve my skill set, so I may be a better educator, a better photographer. I believe we are all lifelong learners, even if you think you are advanced in digital imagery and editing software, there is bound to be something you can take away from this course. I would most definitely recommend this course. Eric is extremely knowledgeable in all thing’s photography, whether it is camera, added equipment, editing software, composition, or final imagery, he provides the help needed and relevant, constructive feedback. Take this course, you will not regret it, your students will thank you.
4.00/5.00
9/19/2022
State: MASSACHUSETTS
I thought the course was great. I only gave it 4 out of 5 because learning photography on my own was hard. I would have preferred this class to be in person.
5.00/5.00
8/27/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This class was definitely out of my comfort zone, but I couldn't be happier that I went for it. I hit a few roadblocks but the Eric Westland is fantastic. He provides strong structure for the first half (or so) of the class to make sure you are acquiring the skills and then near-total freedom for the series of projects at the end. He is quick to give insightful answers to questions and provides consistent, substantive, positive and constructive feedback. I recommend this course and recommend asking for help when you need it (even if you are stubborn like me).
5.00/5.00
8/25/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great class! I learned a lot and am so much more confident using my DSLR. I really enjoyed learning to utilize the photo editing software as well.
5.00/5.00
8/17/2022
State: ILLINOIS
This was an awesome hands-on course that includes a ton of great resources and most importantly an excellent instructor!
5.00/5.00
7/22/2022
State: Armed Forces AE
An extremely well-paced and engaging course, TEC-998 has greatly improved my knowledge of photographic composition and technology. It has already improved my ability to take personal photos and I look forward to sharing these skills with my students. Eric was very supportive, always available and prompt with both grading and feedback.
5.00/5.00
6/21/2022
State: NEW JERSEY
This course was one of my favorite classes so far at FPU. The professor was very helpful and engaging. I learned more than I anticipated and look forward to using the skills learned in my classroom.
5.00/5.00
3/16/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
2/28/2022
State: IDAHO
Great class professor was great to work with.
5.00/5.00
9/23/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
Great class. If I didn't have a deadline to get units for salary credit, I would have liked to stretch this class out longer, and continue to enjoy hunting for good shots.
5.00/5.00
9/20/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/15/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course, the instructor was super helpful! I owe him a lot of my photography knowledge. What a great experience.
5.00/5.00
8/23/2021
State: NEW YORK
I learned so much about photography by taking this course. The instructor is extremely prompt and helpful. He even provided individual help and tutorials on both the photography and technology issue ends through personalized videos- typically the same day! I would highly recommend this course to any educator interested in learning more about photography!
5.00/5.00
8/22/2021
State: MICHIGAN
Now I know what online teachers are supposed to be like! The original lessons were well done and included videos of the professor teaching (not just videos on the topic done by others). Whenever I needed help, he not only responded quickly, but with very helpful videos made just for me addressing my exact problem. Feedback was specific, very helpful, and poositive. He was just very enjoyable to work with, and any other class is going to have a hard time living up to this new standard I have set.
5.00/5.00
8/21/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
The teacher was fantastic. This was a challenging course, but he was friendly, encouraging, and very timely with his grading and feedback.
5.00/5.00
8/20/2021
State: MARYLAND
Great class! The professor is very helpful
5.00/5.00
8/10/2021
State: NEW JERSEY
I really enjoyed the class. I found the tutorials and videos a great introduction to the various technical and design aspects of taking engaging photographs. Eric's responses to questions were insightful and expedient. Great Course!
5.00/5.00
7/30/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
The class was great! If you are looking for a course to teach you how to use the different settings on your camera as well as inspire you to use photography in your classroom, this is the class for you!
5.00/5.00
6/9/2021
State: NEW YORK
I was a newbie to photography and for me, using a digital camera was like trying to understand a foreign language! Fortunately, the instructor was very patient, responsive, helpful, and supportive to clear up my confusion and challenges with the concept/assignments. I learned a lot from Mr. Westland:)
5.00/5.00
12/22/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
12/14/2020
State: MISSOURI
This was a great class, I really learned a lot!
5.00/5.00
9/7/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great experience- I learned a lot!
5.00/5.00
8/21/2020
State:
Absolutely wonderful course that starts with the basics. Ideal for anyone interested in photography but not knowing where to begin.
5.00/5.00
7/27/2020
State: NEVADA
This was an excellent course, I really enjoyed getting out and working with the camera again and the feedback provided was very helpful!
5.00/5.00
7/22/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
This was an amazing class to take! The assignments were very detailed and beneficial. The instructor had great communication and was extremely helpful.
5.00/5.00
5/13/2020
State: MICHIGAN
I enjoyed learning all of the camera details/settings from this course.
5.00/5.00
2/23/2020
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
10/20/2019
State: OHIO
Eric is great! I've been into photography for several years and am self taught. I took the class to backfill any information I had missed and Eric really helped me out a lot. I really enjoyed his use of technology, creating videos of him improving my images. Obviously, using my image to show me how to improve my image was a great teaching/learning tool. I have already suggested this class to my friends-coworkers.
5.00/5.00
10/12/2019
State: MISSOURI
Great Class, I like how it is set up, very easy to follow along.
5.00/5.00
7/17/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/2/2019
State: OHIO
Lots of fun!
4.00/5.00
6/28/2019
State: MISSOURI
Prof Westland was phenomenal and SO kind and helpful.
4.00/5.00
6/15/2019
State: OREGON
This is a very informative class and was very useful in learning how to use a digital camera. All of the videos and tutorials provided throughout the class were really helpful in understanding how to be successful with each lesson. More constructive criticism would have been okay.
5.00/5.00
6/12/2019
State: MISSOURI
Eric Westland is a terrific professor. He responds promptly and is very helpful and flexible. I encountered several problems with my cameras and pc throughout the course. He offered solutions and was even willing to allow me to turn my work in via email. Fortunately I was able to resolve my issues and turn my work in the way it was intended.
5.00/5.00
2/5/2019
State: OHIO
The best class I've taken! The information was well presented and it challenged me to take photos beyond the auto settings on my camera!
5.00/5.00
12/31/2018
State: WISCONSIN
Mr. Westland, the instructor, created an enjoyable course. I appreciated the format and Moodle worked well to house the course curriculum. The course lays a good foundation for beginners to get off of automatic camera settings and instead, use their camera with intention. The course also allows those with some base knowledge to review, practice, and expand by trying new things. I like that the course focuses primarily on technical prompts, lighting, etc., but allows the student to photograph subjects of personal meaning. Mr. Westland was readily available via email to answer questions. He even recorded a video specifically to provide a more detailed explanation to one of my questions. This course allows the student to create work of personal significance, while considering how it may be used in the classroom. Thank you for this positive experience.
5.00/5.00
12/29/2018
State: OHIO
This was an excellent course. Very informative and easy to follow. I'm sure I will be using what I learned here in the courses that I teach.
5.00/5.00
11/29/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
11/10/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
11/1/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/6/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/28/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I learned a lot from taking this course, and was especially impressed with Eric Westland, the course instructor. His feedback is immediate, constructive, and relevant. I have recommended this course to friends and colleagues who are striving to improve their photography skills.
5.00/5.00
6/20/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
A very well organized course with an fantastic instructor. Mr. Westland is very responsive to questions and provides constructive feedback on all lessons submitted. I enjoyed this course very much and I greatly looking forward to implementing all that I learned in the Digital Photography:Open Source course.
5.00/5.00
6/12/2018
State: OHIO
The course was well organized, enjoyable, relevant, and taught me a great amount about photography and introduced me to a variety of resources that I will be using in my classroom. Eric was a wonderful professor! His feedback was valuable, timely, and constructive. I look forward to enrolling one of Eric's other courses in the future.
5.00/5.00
6/10/2018
State: NEW JERSEY
Instructor feedback is useful and prompt. Course materials are relevant, free, and easy to use. Great course! Would recommend!
5.00/5.00
6/5/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/4/2018
State: OHIO
For a photography illiterate (like myself)in the classroom, this is a GREAT course to get you started! 5 of 5 stars!
4.50/5.00
5/30/2018
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
5/14/2018
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
4/11/2018
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
10/7/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/21/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
Loved learning how to use my camera in multiple ways.
5.00/5.00
8/9/2017
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/4/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/1/2017
State: OHIO
Mr. Westland gave me a lot of material that I can take back to my classes. This was the most useful course I have taken and I think it will benefit my classes tremendously
5.00/5.00
7/10/2017
State: WISCONSIN
5.00/5.00
6/16/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
This is the third course I have taken from this professor and he is great. I really appreciate his timely responses and help with assignments.