Back to Top

Fostering Math Discussions

MAT-929
3 Credits
Online
4.93
MAT-929
3 Credits
Online
4.93

177 Reviews

5.00/5.00
8/18/2022
State: CONNECTICUT
This course opened up my eyes to a new way of looking at lesson planning to help enhance student success in a different way than I have considered. Thank you for a great experience!
5.00/5.00
7/18/2022
State: Armed Forces AE
5.00/5.00
6/27/2022
State: CALIFORNIA
The class was well-organized and I got a lot of value out of the practices in the book.
5.00/5.00
6/5/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I thought this was a really good course! I especially enjoyed all of the different questioning techniques that were introduced!
5.00/5.00
5/5/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
4/10/2022
State: Armed Forces AP
Again, I learned a lot from this course. It was what I expected. The teacher is amazing and again, I have walked away with plenty to fill my toolbox with.
5.00/5.00
3/31/2022
State: NEW JERSEY
4.50/5.00
2/17/2022
State: Armed Forces AP
5.00/5.00
2/9/2022
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
1/27/2022
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
12/31/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
4.50/5.00
12/23/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.50/5.00
7/19/2021
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
7/14/2021
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
6/22/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/13/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
I enjoyed this course and reading the book. I will use the five practices for planning lessons from now on. It was not overwhelming and the instructor was very helpful.
5.00/5.00
4/26/2021
State: IDAHO
It was great class. I actually learned strategies for better math classes, which is more than I can say for most of the education classes I've taken.
5.00/5.00
2/22/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
1/7/2021
State: RHODE ISLAND
no complaints... course was well organized, and instructor gave prompt feedback. The course helped me reconsider how to effectively frame math discussions in my classroom
5.00/5.00
12/26/2020
State: FLORIDA
5.00/5.00
11/30/2020
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
11/25/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This course has really made me stop and think how do I plan for my lessons and how to truly pre plan to get more from my students and from myself as a teacher.
5.00/5.00
8/22/2020
State: RHODE ISLAND
Excellent course! Very useful in helping to foster class discussion and engaging students. Will definitely recommend it to my colleagues.
5.00/5.00
8/17/2020
State: VIRGINIA
4.50/5.00
7/22/2020
State: NEW JERSEY
I found this class very helpful and it will hopefully help me to foster better communication in my classroom
5.00/5.00
6/24/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Another great course! Thank you, Fresno Pacific for offering informative, meaningful, and practical courses for educators who want to purse their passion for learning and growing. The information acquired from the continuing education courses could be easily integrated into the classroom.
5.00/5.00
6/23/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/1/2020
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
5/28/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Wonderful class that offered a lot of great information!
5.00/5.00
5/26/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
4/5/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
I really enjoyed being able to explore new ideas and pushing my own thoughts.
5.00/5.00
3/2/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This is a great course that will give you practical application opportunities in your classroom!
5.00/5.00
2/29/2020
State: NEW JERSEY
The resources were organized and helpful. The assignments allowed for time to review the material and apply the 5 practices to my current lessons. Thank you!
5.00/5.00
2/17/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I'm excited to continue using what I've learned in my classroom. Looking forward to signing up for my next course.
5.00/5.00
1/31/2020
State: NEBRASKA
5.00/5.00
1/4/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course!
5.00/5.00
11/30/2019
State: NEW YORK
Excellent course
5.00/5.00
11/10/2019
State: ILLINOIS
This was a great class that allowed me to study strategies that will impact my instruction and improve student learning. The instructor was timely with feedback and grades.
5.00/5.00
11/5/2019
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
10/14/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/27/2019
State: ILLINOIS
Once again a great course for any math educator
4.50/5.00
9/17/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
4.00/5.00
8/31/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/16/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/15/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
8/2/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course with practical information!
5.00/5.00
8/1/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/30/2019
State: TENNESSEE
5.00/5.00
7/25/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/22/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/10/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/10/2019
State: MICHIGAN
I actually learned things I could use in my classroom that went along with our school-wide PD. I feel like the course was laid out in a way that naturally progressed through the learning and made it easy to understand and apply.
5.00/5.00
4/24/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
I got far more out of this course than I had expected. The ideas presented were relevant to my teaching and I look forward to implementing these techniques in my classroom.
5.00/5.00
4/23/2019
State: NEW JERSEY
Excellent course! I the discourse in my class has improved greatly and it has become a great teaching tool.
5.00/5.00
2/26/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
4.50/5.00
2/8/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
2/7/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
Yet another great course!! Taking this course has really solidified the importance of mathematical discussions. It will forever be a part of my classroom now!
5.00/5.00
1/31/2019
State: MARYLAND
5.00/5.00
10/21/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
10/19/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
10/9/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
9/13/2018
State: ILLINOIS
This is a great class. There are a lot of simple ideas that you can easily use in your classroom to foster math discussions.
5.00/5.00
8/22/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/6/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
Very well thought out class. It provided many was to help improve my teaching. Looking forward to implementing what I have learned in the upcoming school year.
5.00/5.00
8/4/2018
State: NEW JERSEY
This course made me a better teacher. That's exactly what I'm looking for when I enroll in classes. I couldn't have asked for a better designed course.
5.00/5.00
8/3/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/9/2018
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
7/3/2018
State: COLORADO
5.00/5.00
7/2/2018
State: MICHIGAN
Valuable information is provided in this course.
5.00/5.00
6/5/2018
State: OHIO
Paul, you have done it yet, again! I really enjoyed this course and continue to recommend you to anyone seeking professional development. You offer a good mix of collaboration and application to all of your classes. I end up with a great book to boot! Thank you!
5.00/5.00
4/26/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Another great course which has had an immediate and positive impact in my classroom.
5.00/5.00
4/13/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Every time I take one of Paul Reimer's classes, I become a better math teacher. Each class I learn more great ways to apply best practices in my classroom!
5.00/5.00
8/4/2017
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/28/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/24/2017
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Awesome course. I learned so much that I can use in my classroom immediately. Thank you!
5.00/5.00
7/14/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Interesting class- hopefully I can use it appropriately to be very useful and productive for my students.
5.00/5.00
7/11/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/3/2017
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
2/22/2017
State: NEW JERSEY
Thank you for another great course.
5.00/5.00
1/25/2017
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
1/16/2017
State: ILLINOIS
I really enjoyed this course! It helped me grow professionally, as I learned a great process for orchestrating productive math discussions among my students. I've already seen a great improvement and I look forward to continuing to implement the strategies I learned in this course.
5.00/5.00
11/28/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great class!
5.00/5.00
10/31/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
I never realized that I could be this intentional about math discussions. Conversations about math don't have to be haphazard.
5.00/5.00
10/8/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course, as usual. Looking forward to my next one.
5.00/5.00
9/8/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This was an excellent course. I have already been able to put it into practice in the classroom. One note, on the web page for the course it states that the course can be completed with or without students. I don't see how that could be done since the last assignment involves developing and teaching two lessons.
4.00/5.00
8/27/2016
State:
5.00/5.00
8/25/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I am teacher that is fortunate enough to focus on one subject. Paul's math courses have given me great ideas to bring with me into my classroom this year. I fully expect to have a more successful year by implementing more math discussion into my classroom!
4.00/5.00
8/22/2016
State: WISCONSIN
5.00/5.00
8/20/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
Thanks for a terrific course!
5.00/5.00
8/15/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.00/5.00
7/14/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/6/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Very helpful course and great professor. I learned a great deal that I have no doubt will contribute to and enhance my math discussions!
5.00/5.00
6/7/2016
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
5/20/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/15/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
Very interesting course. Keeps you thinking!
5.00/5.00
3/4/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
1/1/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
12/14/2015
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
11/30/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
10/27/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/6/2015
State: CONNECTICUT
Fantastic course to promote a student-centered classroom with discussion at the heart of learning. The five practices that I learned will increase student engagement and achievement. Students will be thinking deeper and understanding key mathematical ideas more thouroughly.
5.00/5.00
8/29/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
enjoyed the class. i feel that i learned a lot from this course!
5.00/5.00
8/9/2015
State: GEORGIA
5.00/5.00
8/6/2015
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
7/24/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/13/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
6/22/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/15/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Excellent course!!! Excellent instructor. Very informative and easy to incorporate into the classroom.
5.00/5.00
6/12/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/27/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/26/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
Excellent course.
4.00/5.00
5/16/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
4/14/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
3/18/2015
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Thank you! I enjoyed this class enormously.
5.00/5.00
3/8/2015
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
2/2/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
1/29/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
Great course!!
5.00/5.00
12/1/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
9/24/2014
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
9/24/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I really learned a lot from this course. I think that the book that goes with the course is excellent and has a wealth of knowledge.
5.00/5.00
9/2/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Lots of valuable information in this course. I would recommend it to any math teacher.
5.00/5.00
8/24/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/14/2014
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
8/8/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
Excellent class! I can't wait to use my new skills to help select and sequence each group's presentations to help them achieve the objective of the lesson!
5.00/5.00
8/7/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
This is a course that I have already recommended to colleagues of mine. The course helps make the transition from teacher-centered lessons to creating student-centered lessons much easier. Thank you very much!
5.00/5.00
8/1/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/28/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/23/2014
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
7/18/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/18/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great class for Common Core instructional methods.
5.00/5.00
7/3/2014
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/3/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great info that was very helpful in my instruction.
5.00/5.00
7/1/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
6/19/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/3/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/14/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Excellent course. Relevant to what I teach. Great ideas and key points that I plan to incorporate in my classroom.
4.00/5.00
4/23/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
4/10/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
3/9/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
Fantastic Course!!! Instructor very friendly and accessible!! Relevant and Usable Curriculum!!
5.00/5.00
9/7/2013
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/22/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/27/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/31/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/9/2013
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
4/20/2013
State: NEW YORK
3.00/5.00
3/31/2013
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
2/22/2013
State: ARIZONA
Great course ... :)
5.00/5.00
12/30/2012
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
10/3/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/4/2012
State: ILLINOIS
LOVED this class!
5.00/5.00
8/21/2012
State: NEW JERSEY
Great Course!!
5.00/5.00
8/17/2012
State: WASHINGTON
5.00/5.00
8/6/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/27/2012
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Great course!
5.00/5.00
6/19/2012
State: MAINE
Very thought provoking. I found myself reflecting on things I already do as well as trying out many new things that were new and relevant to my classes.
5.00/5.00
6/7/2012
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
5/22/2012
State: OHIO
The class was very thought provoking. I learned a lot. Great Class!
5.00/5.00
5/7/2012
State: NEW YORK
Very thorough and thought provoking. I found myself reflecting on things I already do as well as trying out many new things that were very relevant to my classes. Well done!
5.00/5.00
3/19/2012
State: OHIO
This information from this class if very useful!
4.00/5.00
3/5/2012
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
2/23/2012
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
1/23/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
1/8/2012
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
9/8/2011
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
8/25/2011
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/12/2011
State: NEW JERSEY
This was a very useful course that outlined strategies for improving discussion in the math classroom. It gave examples and outlines to use when planning lessons. The instructor was very attentive and supportive. I have taken several courses at Fresno and each one gives me new insights into teaching.
5.00/5.00
8/8/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Course is well paced and the material is very help for teachers of all experience levels. I'd definitely recommend this to a colleague.
5.00/5.00
7/24/2011
State: NEBRASKA
5.00/5.00
7/24/2011
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
7/20/2011
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/1/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/29/2011
State: MARYLAND
Thank you so much for another great professional development class! I cannot wait to put all of these new, fresh ideas into action! I truly love each of your classes and I give them the highest recommendations!
4.00/5.00
6/13/2011
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/8/2011
State: CALIFORNIA
A valuable course that all math teachers should consider. It showed me ways to enhance classroom discussions. It also confirmed my belief in group work.
5.00/5.00
6/5/2011
State: NEW YORK
Thank you for another real and appropriate class for my math teachings.
5.00/5.00
5/20/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
1/10/2011
State: OHIO
This course was immediatly applicable to my teaching and I plan on continuing to use and develop these strategies in my classroom.