Back to Top

Teach Math to English Language Learners

MAT-927
3 Credits
Online
4.90
MAT-927
3 Credits
Online
4.90

124 Reviews

5.00/5.00
8/16/2022
State: DELAWARE
5.00/5.00
7/29/2022
State: NEW YORK
Took away many strategies to better support ELL students.
4.50/5.00
7/20/2022
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
6/29/2022
State: CALIFORNIA
This turned out to be a great class, I was able to gain several strategies that I will be using with my ELLs.
5.00/5.00
5/31/2022
State: CALIFORNIA
Great course. I appreciated learning strategies that help all learners especially ELL. The population in the Central Valley is very diverse and I found it very appropriate and relevant to learn new techniques to help the large ELL population.
5.00/5.00
4/11/2022
State: Armed Forces AP
Once again, the teacher was great! I learned a lot from this course and had a hard look into my own teaching with ELLs. I feel like this is something that all teachers should take so they are aware of the experiences of ELL students and how we can better support them in the classroom. Again, these classes taught by Reimer are fantastic.
5.00/5.00
2/26/2022
State: Armed Forces AP
Very valuable course that really helps not only your ELL students but ALL your students.
5.00/5.00
12/7/2021
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
9/17/2021
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
8/11/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
An excellently structured course that makes clear the connection between an English learner's developing English proficiency and developing mathematics proficiency. There are many opportunities to acquire tools for your teacher "tool box" to appropriately and effectively meet the diverse needs of your English learners.
5.00/5.00
7/28/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/22/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/9/2021
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
6/3/2021
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
5/30/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Very easy to follow and useful feedback
5.00/5.00
4/15/2021
State: NEW YORK
I loved this course!
5.00/5.00
1/15/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
This course is great for any educator who teaches any ELL students. This course provides a lot of different strategies that can be used in math and other core content areas. Instructor is great and replies quickly to emails and grades. Highly recommend. Love how this course is self-paced for those who are working.
5.00/5.00
12/5/2020
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
11/14/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This course gave me many practical ideas to implement right away with my ELL students. The strategies covered would also be helpful for those students with language disabilities.
4.50/5.00
9/27/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
It was a great experience. I enjoyed learning in this course and am leaving with some strategies that I genuinely feel will be helpful in the math classroom. I also enjoyed being able to move at my own pace. Instructor was responsive and quick to provide feedback.
4.00/5.00
8/20/2020
State: INDIANA
This course was informative and I enjoyed taking it at my own pace; however, this led to a good deal of procrastination as I dealt with children and actively trying to learn to teach online.
5.00/5.00
8/13/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Wonderful course with great tips for teaching mathematics to English Learners.
4.50/5.00
8/12/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/8/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
This is a wonderful course. It provides lots of useful information, and it goes at a good pace. The assignments are meaningful and allow you to reflect on readings and then implement what you learned. I definitely would recommend it!
5.00/5.00
7/13/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/28/2020
State: NEW YORK
Professor Reimer was supportive, personable and responsive. His feedback was timely and specific. The course taught me some very good strategies and I believe it has made me a better Math teacher for my English Language Learners. I will definitely refer back to the text, my reflections and checklist as the content is very helpful.
5.00/5.00
3/31/2020
State: ILLINOIS
This course was fabulous for me in two ways. I teach ESL classes to adults at night and then I teach middle school math students as my primary job, so this class was so useful to me. The content and examples in the textbook were so detailed that it made learning how to use the strategies so much easier.
5.00/5.00
1/27/2020
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
8/26/2019
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/21/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
8/18/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Tremendous course with a lot of resources!
5.00/5.00
7/19/2019
State: NEW YORK
Excellent course
5.00/5.00
7/9/2019
State: Armed Forces AE
Marvelous class. I believe this is my 10th or 11th class at Fresno Pacific University, and I appreciated the insightful and rapid responses to my coursework.
5.00/5.00
6/15/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/6/2019
State: NEW YORK
This course provided me with many recommendations for instructional strategies to not only help my English Language Learners but all of my students.
5.00/5.00
5/28/2019
State: SOUTH CAROLINA
I really enjoyed this course. I have taken so many courses to help my English learners with reading and writing so it was nice to have one that focused on math. I learned a lot of strategies to help my students with math and I look forward to putting them to use! Definitely take this course if you work with English learners who need math support!
5.00/5.00
4/26/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
This was a very insightful course. I learned a lot of strategies that i will be using in my class to help my English language learners.
5.00/5.00
4/15/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
Awesome course, so relevant!
4.50/5.00
8/15/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/7/2018
State: ILLINOIS
Class provided an excellent amount of resources for implementing strategies within a classroom. Instructor is awesome!
5.00/5.00
8/3/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This course gave me strategies to use in the classroom for any grade level. I have learned a lot and I am excited to implement these strategies into my daily teaching.
5.00/5.00
7/26/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/13/2018
State: NEW YORK
Fantastic course! Great strategies and resources for future reference.
5.00/5.00
7/12/2018
State: New Brunswick
5.00/5.00
6/10/2018
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
5/3/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
Enjoyed the class and learning new strategies and techniques on how teach more effectively.
5.00/5.00
4/16/2018
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
4/15/2018
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
10/6/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Good! Helpful! I wish the instructor would have given more detailed feedback on assignments.
5.00/5.00
9/21/2017
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
8/27/2017
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
8/7/2017
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
7/27/2017
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/10/2017
State: MARYLAND
The course was very helpful in my math planning and preparation. The assignments were very engaging and in turn promoted reflection on one's practices. Professor Paul Reimer provided immediate and encouraging feedback. I enjoyed completing this course.
5.00/5.00
6/9/2017
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
3/7/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
An excellent course to take for those who teach ELL's.
5.00/5.00
1/11/2017
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
1/9/2017
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
12/4/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
I truly enjoyed your class. The layout of topics was very informative and organized. Thank you for your quick and honest feedback. I learned so much!
5.00/5.00
7/6/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Excellent course pedagogy and materials that I can implement immediately into my teaching. Valuable course.
5.00/5.00
6/30/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/26/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
4/23/2016
State: MASSACHUSETTS
A great and useful course!
5.00/5.00
3/10/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
2/2/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/10/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
Thank you for your quick responses to my questions and your helpful feedback.
5.00/5.00
7/30/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/22/2015
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
7/21/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
Thank you.
5.00/5.00
6/24/2015
State: WASHINGTON
professor was prompt in grading and comments assignments were very relevant and practical text and articles were current and well chosen without being wordy and redundant assignments are those that I can use right away
5.00/5.00
6/18/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Another great math class. The practical examples are something I will once again use in my own classroom.
5.00/5.00
6/2/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.00/5.00
4/24/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
2/20/2015
State: OHIO
Love the Moodle!
5.00/5.00
1/15/2015
State: NEW YORK
I really enjoyed this course! I learned many great tips and strategies to better teach my ELL students.
5.00/5.00
1/8/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
Very great course! Highly Recommend!
5.00/5.00
12/20/2014
State: NEVADA
5.00/5.00
11/4/2014
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
10/8/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
9/1/2014
State: MASSACHUSETTS
I learned a lot from this class, and I highly recommend it.
5.00/5.00
8/21/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/16/2014
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
8/6/2014
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/5/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/30/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course and great learning experience. Would recommend to fellow teachers.
5.00/5.00
7/28/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course! I learned a lot of excellent strategies to use with ESL students.
5.00/5.00
7/23/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
7/14/2014
State: ILLINOIS
Good strategies to get you started on changing lesson plans to accommodate the needs of all students along with ELL students.
5.00/5.00
7/13/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Excellent course and recommend it highly.
5.00/5.00
7/11/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/10/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/5/2014
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Great Course! Learned so much!
5.00/5.00
5/19/2014
State: ILLINOIS
thank you
5.00/5.00
5/16/2014
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
5/5/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Very helpful with helping students needs. 5 stars
5.00/5.00
4/11/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
4/11/2014
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
4/7/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
2/13/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Class offers you to examine where students struggle with mathematical language and how you can build their skills from there. The class is designed for ELL students, but the tactics and strategies can help all students who struggle with learning the language of mathematics.
5.00/5.00
12/22/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great ideas and perspective for our varied learners.
5.00/5.00
9/15/2013
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Great course! Very informative and applicable to anyone who has even 1 ELL in their classroom.
5.00/5.00
4/13/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This class was extremely helpful in providing techniques that could be used TODAY in my low level ELL math classes!
5.00/5.00
4/8/2013
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
12/31/2012
State: ILLINOIS
This is a great course for teachers whose students are bilingual.
5.00/5.00
10/1/2012
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
9/27/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I loved this course. I learned so many useful strategies that I have been able to incorporate into my daily planning on a regular basis. The course was applicable not only to my ELL students but to many of my other students as well.
4.00/5.00
8/13/2012
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/3/2012
State: NEW YORK
4.00/5.00
7/26/2012
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
2/8/2012
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
12/12/2011
State: OHIO
Great instructor, beneficial course for any teacher.
5.00/5.00
9/16/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
EXCELLENT course!!
5.00/5.00
9/4/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/30/2011
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
8/11/2011
State: ILLINOIS
This class has been very helpful!
5.00/5.00
7/23/2011
State:
4.00/5.00
7/5/2011
State: CALIFORNIA
I found this course to be interesting, and I know that I will use for future years.
5.00/5.00
4/20/2011
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
3/11/2011
State: CALIFORNIA
The was a very useful course for any teacher of ELL students. Five stars.
4.00/5.00
12/28/2010
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
9/12/2010
State: PENNSYLVANIA
great course - I learned a lot!
5.00/5.00
8/12/2010
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course full of interesting research material, interactive forums, and easy to understand assignment directions.
5.00/5.00
8/12/2010
State: PENNSYLVANIA
thanks again for another worthwhile course. i will be a better teacher
3.00/5.00
8/12/2010
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This was an interesting class. I learned a lot out language developmnet of ELL's. The only thing that threw me was the assignment where we had to read the entire book and respond to 3 areas for each of the 7 chapters. If I were teaching, this assignment would take an excessively long time to complete. Though I think it is meaningful and necessary assignment, I think an assigment in that capacity should be split among 2-3 assignments.