Back to Top

Developing Algebraic Thinking (6-8)

MAT-926
3 Credits
Online
4.88/5.00
MAT-926
3 Credits
Online
4.88/5.00

158 Reviews

5.00/5.00
7/15/2024
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This class was great! And it gave me a lot of interesting thoughts about Algebra and how we should approach teaching it to our students. I look forward to incorporating the new ideas I learned into my class.
5.00/5.00
7/9/2024
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.50/5.00
6/24/2024
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/14/2024
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/10/2024
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Course was easily understandable and adequately provided the SLOs that were expected to be mastered.
5.00/5.00
5/12/2024
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
4/2/2024
State: ILLINOIS
Great course, with great information
5.00/5.00
1/31/2024
State: CALIFORNIA
This class was fantastic.
5.00/5.00
12/4/2023
State: OHIO
I enjoyed the set-up of the class. The activities were helpful for me to use with what I am currently teaching. I thought they were thought-provoking and very useful. The instructor was very helpful.
5.00/5.00
11/30/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
It was a great experience and the teacher was amazing!!
5.00/5.00
11/7/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
10/11/2023
State: NEW YORK
Another great class from Professor Reimer. I apply so many things from her courses in my classroom.
5.00/5.00
7/23/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/12/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/7/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.00/5.00
5/1/2023
State: Western Australia
5.00/5.00
4/2/2023
State: MASSACHUSETTS
An insightful course that helps to illuminate the various aspects of algebraic thinking in the middle school curriculum. I feel that I now have a better understanding of how to instill algebraic thinking in my students.
5.00/5.00
4/7/2022
State: Armed Forces AE
This was an excellent course that helped with the understanding of the development of algebraic thought through the elementary grades on through middle school.
5.00/5.00
3/7/2022
State: CALIFORNIA
I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the modules were helpful to use in my classroom. I also liked that it was self paced and the professor was always quick with feedback that was constructive and helpful. Great course!
5.00/5.00
8/25/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/29/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.50/5.00
7/13/2021
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
7/7/2021
State: ILLINOIS
This instructor always delivers. If you are a middle school math teacher, you are missing out if you are not taking his classes. I always come away with awesome new ideas and lesson plans for the upcoming year.
5.00/5.00
6/9/2021
State: TENNESSEE
4.50/5.00
5/24/2021
State: TENNESSEE
5.00/5.00
4/29/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Another fantastic course!
5.00/5.00
4/17/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
Beside the fact that my book didn't get delivered on a timely basis, I was enjoyed the flexibility of working on own pace. I think I was the only student at the time. I appreciated the reading about the other experiences using algebraic thinking. I plan to use a couple of the strategies as well as Illuminations in class for the upcoming year. Thank you for all your support. Wish me luck on my CSET!
5.00/5.00
2/25/2021
State: WYOMING
Anyone who teaches math content for grades 6-8, can easily find benefit to this course. I thoroughly enjoyed working through this course. 6 stars would take another class from Paul Reimer.
5.00/5.00
8/22/2020
State: OHIO
Fantastic course which has provided me with great insight and resources to incorporate into my curriculum to engage student learning!
5.00/5.00
8/10/2020
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/29/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
This was a really interesting course! Too many other classes I've taken have tried to be too many things to too many people. By focusing only on algebraic thinking and limiting its audience to those of us who are math teachers in the middle school grades, the course offered very useful ways to introduce algebraic thinking into the curriculum that I'm already using. The assignments and readings were interesting and applicable. I'm leaving with a folder full of meaningful lessons and individual problems (including some that I "algebrafied" myself!) that can share with my Pre-Algebra students. Paul Reimer was readily available by email, and he was prompt in grading and commenting on all my assignments. I would definitely recommend him to other students, and would love to take another one of his courses in the future.
5.00/5.00
7/15/2020
State: NEVADA
Very useful information. Great content, length and fast feedback from teacher.
5.00/5.00
7/15/2020
State: OHIO
I really enjoyed the content of this course. I will be able to use the ideas in my classroom.
5.00/5.00
7/14/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
Wonderful! Loved this course. It was super informative and gave me more confidence as a math teacher.
5.00/5.00
7/12/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
This was a great class. Great instructor. Very clear and concise. I would highly recommend the instructor as well as class.
5.00/5.00
7/10/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/3/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
This course provided new tasks, ideas and understanding of algebraic (critical) thinking in mathematics. It is very helpful and eye opening to many tools you can use in teaching.
4.50/5.00
6/2/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/15/2020
State: OHIO
Great class. Enjoyed the content.
4.00/5.00
4/6/2020
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
3/5/2020
State: MASSACHUSETTS
This was an awesome course! The content was rigorous and immediately applicable to my instruction.
4.50/5.00
2/14/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
This course has been very beneficial to me and my students. I wanted to acquire tools to facilitate algebraic thinking in my students. I also wanted to make algebraic thinking more accessible and fun for my students. I am attaining my second goal because of this course. It was a great experience.
4.50/5.00
10/22/2019
State: OHIO
4.50/5.00
9/16/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
9/2/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/10/2019
State: MICHIGAN
Really enjoyed the class. It was very informational and applicable for all middle level grades. Quality assignments with realistic requirements. Would recommend this class to my colleagues.
4.50/5.00
7/10/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Thanks for the variety of resources and problem solving in this course!
5.00/5.00
5/29/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
4/26/2019
State:
5.00/5.00
4/21/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Very valuable course. The instructor was easily accessible and accommodating!
5.00/5.00
4/20/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
This course has given me some great resources to plan and better prepare for my next year of teaching 7th grade.
5.00/5.00
4/12/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
Great class!!!
5.00/5.00
3/9/2019
State: FLORIDA
I found the course very useful in helping me to better understand what algebraic thinking really is and how to teach that way of thinking to my students. I have a long way to go to be good at it, but this course provided a solid foundation for me to build on.
5.00/5.00
2/20/2019
State: NEW JERSEY
The course was very interesting and informative. Dr. Reimer is very helpful. I greatly appreciated his timely feedback throughout the course.
3.00/5.00
1/29/2019
State: OREGON
5.00/5.00
8/17/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I really liked the application gained from this course.
5.00/5.00
8/1/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course with many great ways to develop algebraic thinking in your classroom.
5.00/5.00
7/29/2018
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/25/2018
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/18/2018
State: NEW JERSEY
Dr. Reimer is an excellent teacher who provides meaningful feedback.
5.00/5.00
11/5/2017
State: NEW YORK
The readings and activities in this course were engaging and very appropriate to the level of math I am currently teaching. I highly recommend this course.
5.00/5.00
9/12/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/21/2017
State: MISSOURI
Thank you for another relevant and immediately applicable course.
5.00/5.00
8/12/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/7/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/23/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/21/2017
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/18/2017
State: Armed Forces AP
5.00/5.00
6/8/2017
State: MICHIGAN
Thank you so much! This class was incredibly informative and useful in my teaching.
5.00/5.00
4/23/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course, a lot of new ideas as an algebra teacher going forward
5.00/5.00
3/30/2017
State: OHIO
I would like to recommend this course to any math teacher.
5.00/5.00
3/17/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
2/3/2017
State: MARYLAND
5.00/5.00
9/8/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.00/5.00
9/4/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
4.00/5.00
8/17/2016
State: WISCONSIN
5.00/5.00
8/17/2016
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/14/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/11/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/9/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/7/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/29/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/21/2016
State: Armed Forces AP
This was my first course with Fresno Pacific-I loved the online learning platform and got a lot out of the course!!!
5.00/5.00
7/20/2016
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
6/10/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
6/1/2016
State: MASSACHUSETTS
I highly recommend this course. You walk away with a wealth of activities you can start using with your students today. More importantly, you will start thinking differently about algebra.
4.00/5.00
5/5/2016
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
5/4/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
3/1/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Truly the best grad course I have taken. So many new ideas and activities to implement in my classroom. Thank you!
5.00/5.00
1/10/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
1/2/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Thanks for another great class!
5.00/5.00
9/4/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/13/2015
State: NEW YORK
Very good course, makes me rethink how I teach some math strategies in my class.
5.00/5.00
8/5/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/11/2015
State: NORTH CAROLINA
5.00/5.00
7/2/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
This course was very useful and inspiring. I’m looking forward to taking another course next summer.
5.00/5.00
6/29/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
3.00/5.00
6/22/2015
State: ILLINOIS
Good resources and problems, good work with patterns and bringing in the five representations. Could really use more information on how to promote algebraic thinking while also differentiating for varied student needs.
5.00/5.00
6/19/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
6/19/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
4/12/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
An enjoyable and thought-provoking class.
5.00/5.00
2/22/2015
State: NEVADA
I liked the lessons from the NCTM link i found during the class.
5.00/5.00
12/29/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
I enjoyed this class. It provided me with activities and insight into algebraic thinking. I will definitely be incorporating these ideas into my classroom.
5.00/5.00
12/16/2014
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
11/23/2014
State: VIRGINIA
This course was beneficial in that it helped me take a meaningful look at what I currently teach and evaluate if what I'm doing is current and relevant to the students. I especially am appreciative of the last section with all the websites to help me challenge my students with more manipulatives and online sites. My professor was very prompt with responses and encouraging words.
5.00/5.00
10/29/2014
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
10/26/2014
State: OHIO
I really enjoyed the course.The Navigating Algebra workbook gave me several activities I could use and also create extensions for. I foresee myself using the activities I developed for several years. There are also a few others I would like to try. it was a really good course.
5.00/5.00
10/12/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Thanks.
5.00/5.00
10/7/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/28/2014
State: FLORIDA
5.00/5.00
9/11/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This course helped me look at algebra not as something to endure, but as a tool to help students solve problems more efficiently.
5.00/5.00
8/7/2014
State: NEVADA
5.00/5.00
8/5/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/1/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/25/2014
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
7/21/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
Great course!
5.00/5.00
7/19/2014
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
7/16/2014
State: GEORGIA
5.00/5.00
7/12/2014
State: MASSACHUSETTS
I am looking forward to incorporating many of the strategies I learned in my own teaching this fall to make my teaching more effective.
5.00/5.00
6/20/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I found this to be a very insightful course.
5.00/5.00
6/19/2014
State: Armed Forces AE
This was a great course! Thanks!
4.00/5.00
6/9/2014
State: FLORIDA
Look forward to taking more courses here!
5.00/5.00
5/16/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
4/29/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
3/22/2014
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
3/5/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
2/15/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great class!
5.00/5.00
12/9/2013
State: GEORGIA
5.00/5.00
12/4/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
12/4/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course... enjoyed it a lot.
4.00/5.00
8/17/2013
State: Armed Forces AE
This was a great course.
5.00/5.00
7/31/2013
State: OHIO
Worthwhile class.
5.00/5.00
6/28/2013
State: MICHIGAN
5.00/5.00
5/31/2013
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
5/2/2013
State: MICHIGAN
5.00/5.00
4/22/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great class! Highly recommended for anyone teaching middle school math classes!!
5.00/5.00
4/19/2013
State: GEORGIA
5.00/5.00
2/1/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
12/31/2012
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
10/24/2012
State: FLORIDA
4.00/5.00
9/19/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/14/2012
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/29/2012
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
8/23/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
A very interesting course. I have a ton of great lessons that I play to try out in the fall!
5.00/5.00
8/12/2012
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
6/29/2012
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/19/2012
State: OHIO
This course & instructor made me delve into the teaching of algebra in a fun & interactive way!
5.00/5.00
5/31/2012
State: WEST VIRGINIA
This was a great class for me. It was a good amount of work, but was very beneficial.
5.00/5.00
5/21/2012
State: NEBRASKA
5.00/5.00
3/11/2012
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
2/25/2012
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/17/2011
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/22/2011
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/12/2011
State: OHIO
Positive rating, helpful instructor.
5.00/5.00
6/15/2011
State: WISCONSIN
5.00/5.00
6/15/2011
State: WISCONSIN
5.00/5.00
6/10/2011
State: ILLINOIS
4.00/5.00
2/8/2011
State: OHIO
Lots of writing.