Back to Top

The Young Adult Novel

LIT-910
3 Credits
Correspondence
4.89
LIT-910
3 Credits
Correspondence
4.89

221 Reviews

5.00/5.00
7/5/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I really enjoyed this class because the work was applicable to my middle school classroom.
5.00/5.00
5/30/2022
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
4/16/2022
State: OREGON
5.00/5.00
3/4/2022
State: Armed Forces AP
4.50/5.00
1/30/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I enjoyed the textbook, as it provided ample books to review and plan out for future classes.
5.00/5.00
9/16/2021
State: NEVADA
The coursework has been interesting and challenging. The ease of accessing my classes, professors and materials is impressive. I just completed my third class and I will continue to take graduate classes through this wonderful program.
5.00/5.00
7/24/2021
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/12/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
I enjoyed my time going through this course and assignments. The text for the class was relevant to what I was hoping to learn more about and the assignments helped me reflect on my curriculum and how I could implement more diversity in literature. I enjoyed creating lessons for the YA Literature and thinking about how I could use them in the classroom. Thank you!
5.00/5.00
7/7/2021
State: OHIO
I really enjoy all of my Fresno courses. I have been able to choose reading that interests and motivates me. All of the coursework I've done has made me a more thoughtful teacher. The feedback I've received is personal and meaningful. Just a great way to continue learning!
4.50/5.00
6/18/2021
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
4/5/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
The course textbook was wonderful and the assignments well designed to include many practical applications. I will be applying many of my findings from this course to my course design for the next year.
5.00/5.00
3/30/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This course was so relevant to my current teaching assignment. I appreciated the freedom to choose novels that were of interest to both me and my current classes. I was able learn some new content that is relevant to the students sitting in my classroom. I look forward to implementing the lessons I created for this course.
5.00/5.00
3/27/2021
State: NEW HAMPSHIRE
This course had great resources and the assignments felt meaningful. I've taken too many courses in other places where the videos we have to watch or texts we have to read only claim to be for high schoolers, but are really best for middle schoolers or lower. This was not the case with this course, as I had the flexibility to pick texts relevant for my students and the textbook that was assigned for the course touched upon relevant issues for high schoolers and high school teachers.
5.00/5.00
9/7/2020
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/10/2020
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
5/25/2020
State: OHIO
The course made me think about my past practices of using novels in the classroom and where I go from here. I liked having the opportunity to choose my own novels to fit my students as well as chapter topics that apply.
4.50/5.00
5/23/2020
State: FLORIDA
4.50/5.00
5/14/2020
State: COLORADO
3.00/5.00
2/14/2020
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
2/13/2020
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
1/7/2020
State: MARYLAND
4.50/5.00
11/30/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
9/15/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Everything about this course was amazing! The way you think about YA literature enhances your teaching instruction and has made me so excited about what I will do in my classroom this year! Highly recommend this course!
5.00/5.00
8/14/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
8/10/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/2/2019
State: CALIFORNIA
This is an excellent course with a solid text choice which explores the background of the YA novel and its usefulness across academic disciplines. This is another well-planned course with assignments that instructors can easily adapt to their unique settings and levels.
5.00/5.00
7/24/2019
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
7/16/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/14/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
7/1/2019
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
5/24/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
5/22/2019
State: OHIO
4.50/5.00
5/16/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
3.50/5.00
4/29/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
4/26/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
4/22/2019
State:
I am grateful the instructor is flexible and able to modify the module to fix my teaching needs. This is very important for teachers from all fields to fully enjoy the class. I highly recommend this course.
5.00/5.00
4/11/2019
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great course! I really enjoyed it and the textbook is a useful resource to have.
5.00/5.00
3/28/2019
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
3/22/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
3/19/2019
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
3/18/2019
State: NEW JERSEY
This class gave great insight into the young adult. It was wonderful to spend time to think about books in such a meaningful way.
5.00/5.00
3/15/2019
State: NEW YORK
Excellent course with an informative and relevant textbook.
5.00/5.00
2/27/2019
State: NEW YORK
LIT 910 was yet another excellent class from Luetta Reimer. The textbook was accessible and useful, and the assignments were thought-provoking. As usual, I enjoy Ms. Reimer's class.
5.00/5.00
2/10/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
12/26/2018
State: MISSOURI
3.50/5.00
12/6/2018
State: NEVADA
Thanks. Course needed a new text and is getting one in the Spring of '19.
5.00/5.00
12/4/2018
State: OHIO
The course is thought-provoking, relevant, and worthwhile. It is easy to engage with the materials.
5.00/5.00
11/2/2018
State: MASSACHUSETTS
This course helped to revitalize my approach to independent reading.
5.00/5.00
9/9/2018
State: NEVADA
5.00/5.00
9/9/2018
State: NEW JERSEY
Great class to apply to current teaching material!
5.00/5.00
8/10/2018
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/7/2018
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/6/2018
State: MASSACHUSETTS
4.50/5.00
8/2/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
8/1/2018
State: IOWA
5.00/5.00
7/26/2018
State: OHIO
excellent course
5.00/5.00
7/13/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
Such a valuable and interesting course. I highly recommend it!
5.00/5.00
7/5/2018
State: OREGON
4.00/5.00
6/22/2018
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/4/2018
State: NEW YORK
Professor Reimer continually puts out courses that lend themselves to thought-provoking analysis! This course, much like the others, allows its students to develop materials that can and will be used within the classroom!
5.00/5.00
4/15/2018
State: OHIO
4.00/5.00
4/1/2018
State: MICHIGAN
5.00/5.00
8/18/2017
State: NEW YORK
Amazing instructor!
5.00/5.00
8/1/2017
State: NEW JERSEY
4.00/5.00
7/27/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Interesting content, student choice, and responsive instructor! Recommended!
5.00/5.00
7/21/2017
State: VIRGINIA
This course was very interesting and thought-provoking. I appreciate that I could choose the books I wish to evaluate as they are lessons I can utilize in the future. I also appreciate how flexible Mrs. Reimer was with me so that, as a librarian, I could develop the course assignments to be useful in my professional setting.
5.00/5.00
7/18/2017
State: ILLINOIS
An update text would be more useful. Thankfully, the instructor accepted a text suggestion and will incorporate it in the future. A well-organized class that allows for flexibility. The most useful assignment for me was finding ways to connect young adult novels to a classic work of literature.
5.00/5.00
7/10/2017
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/1/2017
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/16/2017
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/10/2017
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
5/10/2017
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
4/28/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
4/24/2017
State: ILLINOIS
3.00/5.00
4/20/2017
State: ILLINOIS
I liked the class assignments, but I think the textbook/examples of young adult fiction could be updated to reflect current novels taught and being read by today's young adults.
5.00/5.00
4/10/2017
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
3/31/2017
State: MISSOURI
4.00/5.00
3/13/2017
State: MISSOURI
Another thought provoking class. Thanks so much.
5.00/5.00
2/21/2017
State: OHIO
Another great class from Luetta and FPU. Her classes are very highly recommended!
5.00/5.00
2/6/2017
State: CALIFORNIA
Another outstanding course from Luetta Reimer. Highly recommended!
5.00/5.00
11/10/2016
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
10/5/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
10/4/2016
State: NEW YORK
Thank you!
5.00/5.00
8/30/2016
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
8/29/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
The Young Adult Novels course taught by Luetta Reimer is an excellent course. The best part is the opportunity to select and study the use of young adult novels that could be incorporated into classroom curriculum. As with all of Luetta Reimer's courses, the class is enjoyable and very practical in application.
5.00/5.00
8/18/2016
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
7/30/2016
State: NEVADA
Thanks so much! The course was thoroughly planned, and provided in-depth learning with an end of practical tools produced and ready to use. I appreciate all that you do.
5.00/5.00
7/25/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Not only was the textbook helpful, it gave me the chance to read four new novels! Dr. Reimer's classes are always good.
5.00/5.00
6/26/2016
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/25/2016
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
6/24/2016
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Loved the course! Very easy to navigate and timely responses from the professor!
5.00/5.00
6/23/2016
State: OHIO
Another course that was not filled with busy work but opportunities to explore material that I might not have otherwise sought to enhance my repertoire.
5.00/5.00
5/23/2016
State: Armed Forces AP
Thank you for the fantastic class!
5.00/5.00
5/8/2016
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
4/25/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.00/5.00
4/19/2016
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
2/27/2016
State: OHIO
The courses were very good. A challenge, and I learned a great deal that I believe I can take to the classes I teach.
5.00/5.00
2/3/2016
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
11/2/2015
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
10/27/2015
State: OHIO
This course was informative and the lessons were meaningful. I will definitely take classes through Fresno Pacific again, specifically Luetta Reimer's courses.
5.00/5.00
8/26/2015
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
8/9/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
This course allowed me to explore young adult novels that I could use in my classroom and develop meaningful lessons for instruction. My inner bookworm was certainly pleased with this course!
5.00/5.00
8/6/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
What an awesome course for Language Arts teachers!
5.00/5.00
7/26/2015
State: NEW JERSEY
It was great. I got some very good ideas
5.00/5.00
7/23/2015
State: MARYLAND
Excellent Course!
5.00/5.00
7/18/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/15/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
Excellent course, reasonable amount of work required.
5.00/5.00
7/11/2015
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/3/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This is a fantastic course. I had the opportunity to explore a variety of young adult novels that will be nicely received by the students in my classroom. Also, the course allows you go move along at your own pace, which is extremely important when you are teaching, coaching, and raising a family.
5.00/5.00
6/19/2015
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/10/2015
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
5/19/2015
State: OKLAHOMA
5.00/5.00
5/8/2015
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
2/4/2015
State: VIRGINIA
5.00/5.00
12/15/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
12/1/2014
State: OHIO
I really enjoyed that this course offered me the ability to effectively adapt content to fit my classroom needs.
5.00/5.00
9/24/2014
State: OHIO
Great class that brought up new and exciting ideas.
5.00/5.00
9/5/2014
State: NORTH CAROLINA
This course was informative and challenging. It suited my needs exactly in helping me to identify and also teach the Young Adult Novel to my Jr High students!
5.00/5.00
9/5/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/12/2014
State: OHIO
Great course!! You can apply it directly to your classroom as you finish the assignments.
5.00/5.00
8/6/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/3/2014
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/30/2014
State:
This course challenges the mind as much as it makes learning interesting. The professor is supportive and very knowledgeable.
5.00/5.00
7/27/2014
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
7/10/2014
State: OHIO
The course is well put together. I am so glad that there is a course that focuses on putting current Young Adult Literature into English courses. The assignments helped me focus on the materials that I plan to use in my course this coming school year.
5.00/5.00
7/8/2014
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/18/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/5/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/20/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
This course is relevant to my teaching position and of high interest. Timely and helpful feedback provided by the instructor. This was an enjoyable class!
5.00/5.00
5/19/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/6/2014
State: OHIO
This was an excellent course! I enjoyed the assignments and doing the lessons with my classes!
5.00/5.00
4/28/2014
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
4/26/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
4/9/2014
State: OREGON
5.00/5.00
1/31/2014
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
1/17/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I really enjoyed the lesson plans and connecting novels with classics. I plan on trying to incorporate this idea into my curruculum.
5.00/5.00
1/15/2014
State: NEW JERSEY
4.00/5.00
1/1/2014
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
11/18/2013
State: NEVADA
5.00/5.00
11/12/2013
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
9/17/2013
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
9/8/2013
State: NEW JERSEY
I always enjoy Mrs. Reimer's courses!
5.00/5.00
9/3/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/1/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/30/2013
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
8/13/2013
State: NEW YORK
Luetta has been an amazing instructor. I've enjoyed and learned so much from her classes
5.00/5.00
8/13/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/12/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/12/2013
State: ILLINOIS
Great class! Very practical. Thanks!
5.00/5.00
8/11/2013
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
8/7/2013
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/5/2013
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
7/29/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
4.00/5.00
7/29/2013
State: NEVADA
5.00/5.00
7/28/2013
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/19/2013
State: ILLINOIS
One of the best post-grad classes I have taken. The text was very informative with great authors.
5.00/5.00
7/15/2013
State: WISCONSIN
5.00/5.00
6/18/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
5/30/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This course was extremely helpful. I am excited to incorporate YAL novels into my traditional curriculum!
5.00/5.00
5/29/2013
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
5/20/2013
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
5/13/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This course was fantastic! The course book was very interesting. It gave me new insights about teaching with YA novels. The assignments were fun and really made me think. I especially loved the assignment for which I had to make connections between a more classic piece of literature and a YA novel.
4.00/5.00
5/12/2013
State: ILLINOIS
I love idea of the class. I was not a fan of the textbook. I thought it was a bit outdated. Many of the expamples are from books at least 15 years ago.
5.00/5.00
5/9/2013
State: OHIO
This course was great! It gave me a wealth of titles for my students, both readers and reluctant ones, and introduced me to some professional organizations dedicated to the teaching of YA literature.
5.00/5.00
4/30/2013
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
4/29/2013
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
4/20/2013
State: OHIO
I enjoyed completing the coursework for this class, and I learned valuable insight when it comes to my current teaching methods.
5.00/5.00
4/5/2013
State: OHIO
Another great course!
5.00/5.00
3/7/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
3/7/2013
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This class was extremely beneficial for my ESL language arts class. I thought the assignments were useful. Thanks
5.00/5.00
1/28/2013
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
1/25/2013
State: OHIO
I really enjoyed this correspondence course. As an educator it allowed me to reflect on my techniques and what I can do to improve.
4.00/5.00
1/14/2013
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
1/7/2013
State: LOUISIANA
Mrs. Reimer is an encouraging instructor and very helpful with her criticism, when needed. I would recommend her courses to any of my colleagues.
5.00/5.00
12/10/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
11/19/2012
State: FLORIDA
I would highly recommend this course to a teacher teaching fifth - high school. It was very rewarding.
5.00/5.00
10/9/2012
State: WASHINGTON
5.00/5.00
9/28/2012
State: NEVADA
Excellent course!!The contenct was so relevant and motivating for my classroom.
5.00/5.00
9/27/2012
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
8/18/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I loved this course and the lessons that I developed were specific to the grade and subject that I teach! The professor was easy to contact and extremely helpful.
5.00/5.00
8/7/2012
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
8/7/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/1/2012
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
7/29/2012
State: OHIO
Another great course from Luetta Reimer!!! Thank you.
5.00/5.00
7/26/2012
State: CALIFORNIA
This was a very informative course. I not only helps literature teachers to understand that they need to use young adult novels in the classroom, but it also explains many reasons why. It teaches several great ways to keep open communication between students, their parents, and teachers. I especially appreciated the rationale that a teacher should prepare before she does any study in the classroom. This is a proactive way to keep problems form happening with controversial literature. I plan on implementing it in my own classroom. Awesome class!!!
5.00/5.00
7/25/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/19/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
7/11/2012
State: ILLINOIS
Another fantastic class- great text, valuable assignments.
5.00/5.00
7/10/2012
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
7/3/2012
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/11/2012
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
6/6/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
6/5/2012
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
6/4/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I really enjoyed this course.
5.00/5.00
5/14/2012
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
5/14/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Very informational class!
5.00/5.00
5/14/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I enjoyed reading young adult literature again. It has been a while since I enjoyed some of these authors.
5.00/5.00
4/21/2012
State: WISCONSIN
This course was extremely relevant to what I teach and I could use the information presented immediately.
5.00/5.00
4/20/2012
State: OHIO
EXCELLENT!!!
5.00/5.00
3/13/2012
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
2/7/2012
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
1/18/2012
State: ILLINOIS
4.00/5.00
1/11/2012
State: CALIFORNIA
4.00/5.00
1/3/2012
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
12/28/2011
State: ILLINOIS
Interesting assignments that really made me think about a variety of ways I can utilize YA novels in my teaching.
5.00/5.00
9/17/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
9/4/2011
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
9/1/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/24/2011
State: MICHIGAN
I have taken four courses from Luetta Reimer, and I have been extremely happy with each of the classes I have taken. She gives you assignments, readings, and lessons that are applicable and helpful to the classroom. I also enjoy the fact that she allows the student to choose novels and stories when appropriate. It is nice to have a class that is tailored to what I am teaching. Thank you, Luetta, for another great learning experience.
5.00/5.00
8/24/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
8/20/2011
State: ILLINOIS
3 stars I liked the YA reading and assignments, but I didn't like the textbook.
5.00/5.00
8/11/2011
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
8/7/2011
State: ALABAMA
This was a very helpful class. I will be able to use the practical information I learned in the classroom this school year.
5.00/5.00
8/4/2011
State: OHIO
The textbook was very helpful and covered many aspects of teaching the young adult novel. I appreciated the extensive bibliographies at the end of each chapter. These will be great resources. Is there a more updated version that includes newer titles? The young adult market has exploded and a new text may capture some of this phenomenon. The assignments were useful and practical.
5.00/5.00
7/29/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5/5. A Great course and very relevant for my students!!
5.00/5.00
7/19/2011
State: ILLINOIS
5.00/5.00
7/19/2011
State: ILLINOIS
This was a very thorough course. I learned a great deal. The text was excellent.
5.00/5.00
7/14/2011
State: IDAHO
I've taken several courses from Luetta Reimer and have really enjoyed working with her.
5.00/5.00
6/13/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great Course. I hope to utlize the concepts learned next school year when I begin to co-teach 10th grade English.
5.00/5.00
4/25/2011
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
4/18/2011
State: CALIFORNIA