Successful Independent Reading (4-12)

  • ELA-930
  • 3  Credits
  • Online
  • 4.88 out of 5 stars
    4.88/5.00
  • Instructor: Tara Warmerdam

21 Reviews

  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    08/25/2020
    State:
    MASSACHUSETTS
    Comments:
    Tara is incredibly responsive and provided a great range of reading and assignments to make this class worthwile.
  • Rating:
    4.50 out of 5 stars
    4.50/5.00
    Date:
    08/05/2020
    State:
    OHIO
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    07/19/2020
    State:
    OKLAHOMA
    Comments:
    The material was extremely helpful to me as a teacher, and the assignments helped me produce a useful plan for implementation. The class material included a wide range of experts, from researchers to seasoned teachers with successful reading programs. It was time well spent!
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    07/08/2020
    State:
    PENNSYLVANIA
    Comments:
    I started incorporating reading workshop in my classroom a few years ago. Something wasn't working. After taking this course, I realized what I was missing and feel confident that when I implement what I have learned, my students will reap the benefits I hoped they would when I first began reading workshop!
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    07/08/2020
    State:
    OHIO
    Comments:
    Lots of information - gave me plenty of things to think about for ways to change my class through independent reading.
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    06/24/2020
    State:
    PENNSYLVANIA
    Comments:
    This is a great course to learn about independent reading.
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    06/11/2020
    State:
    CALIFORNIA
    Comments:
    In this course I learned how to successfully implement independent reading in my reading block. I now feel confident holding reading conferences with each of my students, and I know they will benefit form this new element of our reading time.
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    06/04/2020
    State:
    NEW YORK
    Comments:
    Wonderful and informative course ALL teachers should take!
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    05/28/2020
    State:
    GEORGIA
    Comments:
    This course was very informative
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    05/27/2020
    State:
    CALIFORNIA
    Comments:
    This was a wonderful course. I have so many great ideas that I am excited to implement with my students next year!
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    04/15/2020
    State:
    CALIFORNIA
  • Rating:
    4.50 out of 5 stars
    4.50/5.00
    Date:
    04/14/2020
    State:
    NEW JERSEY
    Comments:
    This class increased my understanding on independent reading and I will recommend it to my friends.
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    01/27/2020
    State:
    VIRGINIA
    Comments:
    I honestly think this was the best online professional development course I have ever taken. Not only is the instructor great at responding in a timely manner, but her feedback of each assignment was very thorough. The course content was well thought-out. I enjoyed how she allowed the use of collating tools such as Pinterest and her final assignment which was to create a project that detailed what I felt I gained through the course. I chose to create a power point presentation. I have many applicable take-aways that I plan to incorporate into the reading culture of our school.
  • Rating:
    4.00 out of 5 stars
    4.00/5.00
    Date:
    12/04/2019
    State:
    MASSACHUSETTS
  • Rating:
    5.00 out of 5 stars
    5.00/5.00
    Date:
    09/04/2019
    State:
    GEORGIA