Back to Top

Successful Independent Reading (4-12)

ELA-930
3 Credits
Online
4.91/5.00
ELA-930
3 Credits
Online
4.91/5.00

98 Reviews

5.00/5.00
6/12/2024
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Great class--Tara continues to offer meaningful courses!
5.00/5.00
6/6/2024
State: MISSOURI
I really enjoyed taking this course! It was easy to follow and well-organized. I will likely sign up for another class with Fresno in the future!
5.00/5.00
5/10/2024
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This was a great course. The material was relevant to what I am doing in my clasroom, and the modules were well laid out and easy to follow.
5.00/5.00
5/8/2024
State: OHIO
It was outstanding and I will utalize what I learned in my classroom.
5.00/5.00
4/30/2024
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
4/21/2024
State: OKLAHOMA
I loved this course! It opened my eyes to many things I was doing right in my English classes, and a few ways I could make my classroom better and more efficient for my students. I was appreciative of the instructor and all of her positive feedback. I was not sure I would be able to do a college course, as a working mom and teacher. I was happy that I could do the work on my own time and complete modules as time allowed. I am glad that I was fortunate enough to take this course and I hope to take more in the future!
4.00/5.00
3/11/2024
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
3/5/2024
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
3/4/2024
State: OHIO
I actually loved this course. As mentioned in my final reflection, it is one of the few courses that I have taken over the years, that has changed my view on how I approach independent reading. I have learned a lot of valuable information that I can use immediately, but next year will be very exciting as I implement many of the ideas from the course. This is extremely exciting as I have taught for over 30 years. The readings and assignments were helpful and useful. I enjoyed the videos as well. Tara was very pleasant when I had questions and gave very positive feedback in a timely manner. I would definitely recommend this course.
5.00/5.00
2/19/2024
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
2/6/2024
State: NEW JERSEY
I loved this course. The readings were relevant and the assignments were clear.
5.00/5.00
2/5/2024
State: NEW JERSEY
Loved it! Tara was a wonderful instructor.
5.00/5.00
1/16/2024
State: NEW JERSEY
This was a great course that was practical for establishing a community of readers within the classroom. I enjoyed revisiting some of the texts I have read in past, and being introduced to new ones.
5.00/5.00
12/28/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
It was easy for me at first , but then as I needed to submit downloads/uploads I got discouraged. Yes, I am on the older side and got overwhelmed easily. After that, I really found it to be an enjoyable course with practical information that I have already begun to implement in my classroom. The course description was accurate and I felt like I chose a class that I can use everyday in the classroom.
5.00/5.00
12/11/2023
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
12/3/2023
State: NEW YORK
4.00/5.00
8/22/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/21/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
8/14/2023
State: TENNESSEE
5.00/5.00
8/3/2023
State: NEW JERSEY
Good course with lots of useful resources.
5.00/5.00
7/26/2023
State: ILLINOIS
An outstanding course! Anyone looking to learn more about best practices for teaching independent reading should enroll. ELA-930 is one of the best classes for continuing education that I've taken in my seventeen years of full-time teaching.
5.00/5.00
7/21/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I gained a lot of useful knowledge and was able to make a lot of resources to use in my classroom this year.
5.00/5.00
7/18/2023
State: NEW YORK
5.00/5.00
7/18/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
This course was practical, useful, and the assignments were not overly time-consuming. Instructor feedback was almost immediate. The readings were useful, but the text is more geared toward elementary school. Overall, I highly recommend this course and this instructor!
4.50/5.00
6/29/2023
State: OHIO
EXCELLENT course and I found very beneficial towards teaching reading with my students!
5.00/5.00
6/26/2023
State: OHIO
My experience with this course was 10/10! It prepared me to take action in my classroom right away to implement independent reading routines. Every assignment was practical and something I will definitely use.
5.00/5.00
6/14/2023
State: ILLINOIS
This course helped me to reflect on my current practices and plan what I want to change in order to build successful independent readers in the classroom. The instructor provided timely feedback and grades on assignments. Modules were organized and easy to follow. Thank you!
5.00/5.00
5/31/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
ELA 930 is valuable and all ELA teachers can benefit from this class.
4.50/5.00
5/30/2023
State: NEW JERSEY
This has been my favorite class so far. Tara is very knowledgeable and gave me so much information to take back to my classroom. Thank you!
5.00/5.00
4/11/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
I appreciate how straight forward the information was. I came away with easy-to-implement ideas.
5.00/5.00
4/10/2023
State: Western Australia
I had an amazing experience with this class and Professor Warmerdam. The class materials and topics were exactly what I needed at this point in my career to refresh my practices and understand why I do what I do, and the online format was clear and easy to follow. I learned many practical tools to improve my teaching, and was able to implement what I learned right away. I would take another class like this in a heartbeat!
4.00/5.00
3/25/2023
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
3/15/2023
State: FLORIDA
5.00/5.00
3/9/2023
State: NEW JERSEY
Learned lots of great information - the teacher gave super feedback in a very timely manner.
4.50/5.00
2/3/2023
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
1/17/2023
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
1/10/2023
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Fantastic class! I gained a lot of knowledge about how to use independent reading in my classroom. The professor leaves detailed feedback and the assignments are graded quickly.
5.00/5.00
11/13/2022
State: ALASKA
The Successful Independent Reading course was excellent. Professor Warmerdam made an excellent curriculum with insightful, helpful readings, and productive assignments. I was able to put many of the ideas to work in my class, abandoning some teaching practices in Reading Workshop, and refining other practices. I have benefitted greatly, and so have my students. I recommend this course to all Language Arts teachers. Well done!
5.00/5.00
10/22/2022
State: OHIO
Great course!
5.00/5.00
9/10/2022
State: HAWAII
I have learned so much about the benefits of independent reading, book choice, book reports, book logging, etc.. Thank you so much for building my confidence as a first time teacher!
5.00/5.00
8/29/2022
State: CALIFORNIA
It was a very useful course that gave great ideas about how to implement an effective independent reading program.
5.00/5.00
8/23/2022
State: Western Australia
5.00/5.00
8/19/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This class offered numerous strategies in how to engage the readers in our classrooms and to push them to their fullest potential. It emphasized the importance of reading time that is uninterrupted and the importance of teacher, daily, check ins.
5.00/5.00
8/17/2022
State: OHIO
Great course to help you revitalize independent reading in the classroom!
4.50/5.00
8/12/2022
State: OREGON
Great course, and very quick feedback. The assignments were practical and can be used directly in my classroom. I'm so glad I took this class!
5.00/5.00
6/28/2022
State: MASSACHUSETTS
I really liked this course and gave me a lot to think about in terms of developing a strong independent reading program. The process graded very quickly and gave thoughtful feedback.
5.00/5.00
6/15/2022
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
6/15/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
3/11/2022
State: CALIFORNIA
This course was laid out clearly from the beginning until the end. The assignments were returned quickly. The content was applicable to classroom teaching with many strategies to implement to make reading more meaningful to students.
4.50/5.00
3/10/2022
State: NEVADA
5.00/5.00
2/22/2022
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I learned a lot about how Independent Reading should be implemented.
5.00/5.00
2/8/2022
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
2/5/2022
State:
This course was extremely helpful for me. There were so many learnings that were immediately applicable in the classroom. If I become a principal someday, I would require all my reading teachers to take this course.
5.00/5.00
12/31/2021
State: ILLINOIS
I enjoyed reflecting on my own independent reading in the classroom.
5.00/5.00
12/28/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I learned many important practices and feel more confident facilitating an independent reading practice in my ELA classes.
5.00/5.00
12/27/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
11/28/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
5.00/5.00
10/31/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great class. After this course, everyone will want independent reading to be a part of their daily reading class.
5.00/5.00
10/14/2021
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
10/8/2021
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/30/2021
State: NEW YORK
One of the best courses I have taken. The Reading Zone, along with the articles and videos provided in the course really unlocked the inner ELA teacher in me. I would highly recommend if you teach reading or ELA.
5.00/5.00
8/29/2021
State: INDIANA
It was a great course - relevant and applicable. I can use what this course taught me in my classroom and in my teaching.
5.00/5.00
8/16/2021
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
8/12/2021
State: OHIO
4.50/5.00
8/10/2021
State: NEW HAMPSHIRE
Brilliant use of texts-- there was no filler. Every reading, even the optional ones, were helpful, relevant, and interesting. I learned so much in through this course, and it completely changed the why I look at teaching reading, plus I left invigorated with lots of practical ideas of what to do.
5.00/5.00
7/29/2021
State: GEORGIA
This course was exactly what I needed to refresh my skills with independent reading in the classroom! I am ready to implement what I learned in my class immediately. I highly recommend this course.
5.00/5.00
7/29/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
This was a very informative class; it will definitely help any teacher who teaches reading.
5.00/5.00
7/20/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
Fantastic course! I learned a lot and gained more confidence to implement independent reading in my classes this upcoming school year.
5.00/5.00
7/20/2021
State: CALIFORNIA
5.00/5.00
7/8/2021
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Good course - gave me a lot to think about, a solid introduction into different ways of conducting independent reading in the classrom.
5.00/5.00
7/5/2021
State: ILLINOIS
I learned so many great things about incorporating independent reading into my 8th grade language arts classroom. I'm looking forward to implementing all of these great ideas into my classroom this Fall.
4.00/5.00
6/18/2021
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Great class. Lots of useful resources. Can apply concepts learned directly to my classroom.
5.00/5.00
6/4/2021
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Wonderful and informative class. Highly recommend to any ELA teacher, or other content area teacher wanting to explore inclusion of independent reading into their curriculum.
5.00/5.00
5/26/2021
State: OHIO
I loved this course. It taught me a lot about how to implement motivation into my students in my high school classes. Highly recommend taking this if you teach any grade level.
5.00/5.00
5/23/2021
State: GEORGIA
Great course!!!
5.00/5.00
2/20/2021
State: NEW YORK
This instructor always provides strong sources. I have continued to use some of the primary and secondary readings requisite to her courses long after I have finished them. The course genuinely changed my valuation of independent reading.
5.00/5.00
11/15/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
Loved this course! It reminded me about the power of reading and helped me make independent reading a priority in my classroom.
5.00/5.00
8/25/2020
State: MASSACHUSETTS
Tara is incredibly responsive and provided a great range of reading and assignments to make this class worthwile.
4.50/5.00
8/5/2020
State: OHIO
5.00/5.00
7/19/2020
State: OKLAHOMA
The material was extremely helpful to me as a teacher, and the assignments helped me produce a useful plan for implementation. The class material included a wide range of experts, from researchers to seasoned teachers with successful reading programs. It was time well spent!
5.00/5.00
7/8/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
I started incorporating reading workshop in my classroom a few years ago. Something wasn't working. After taking this course, I realized what I was missing and feel confident that when I implement what I have learned, my students will reap the benefits I hoped they would when I first began reading workshop!
5.00/5.00
7/8/2020
State: OHIO
Lots of information - gave me plenty of things to think about for ways to change my class through independent reading.
5.00/5.00
6/24/2020
State: PENNSYLVANIA
This is a great course to learn about independent reading.
5.00/5.00
6/11/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
In this course I learned how to successfully implement independent reading in my reading block. I now feel confident holding reading conferences with each of my students, and I know they will benefit form this new element of our reading time.
5.00/5.00
6/4/2020
State: NEW YORK
Wonderful and informative course ALL teachers should take!
5.00/5.00
5/28/2020
State: GEORGIA
This course was very informative
5.00/5.00
5/27/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
This was a wonderful course. I have so many great ideas that I am excited to implement with my students next year!
5.00/5.00
4/15/2020
State: CALIFORNIA
4.50/5.00
4/14/2020
State: NEW JERSEY
This class increased my understanding on independent reading and I will recommend it to my friends.
5.00/5.00
1/27/2020
State: VIRGINIA
I honestly think this was the best online professional development course I have ever taken. Not only is the instructor great at responding in a timely manner, but her feedback of each assignment was very thorough. The course content was well thought-out. I enjoyed how she allowed the use of collating tools such as Pinterest and her final assignment which was to create a project that detailed what I felt I gained through the course. I chose to create a power point presentation. I have many applicable take-aways that I plan to incorporate into the reading culture of our school.
4.00/5.00
12/4/2019
State: MASSACHUSETTS
5.00/5.00
9/4/2019
State: GEORGIA
5.00/5.00
8/9/2019
State: NEW JERSEY
5.00/5.00
8/7/2019
State: VIRGINIA
4.50/5.00
8/6/2019
State: VIRGINIA
5.00/5.00
8/4/2019
State: KENTUCKY
This is an excellent course! Very thoughtful research applied to building independent readers.
5.00/5.00
6/21/2019
State: MISSOURI
5.00/5.00
6/15/2019
State: OHIO